Text Size: SmallMediumLarge

The Ken Lord Award

The Ken Lord Award recognises the lifetime commitment of an individual who has served the international guide dog movement in an exemplary manner.  Ken Lord was one of the co-founders of the International Guide Dog Federation, served as Chair of the IGDF and rose to the position of CEO with the South African Guide Dog Association. Ken had dedicated more than 40 years of service to the guide dog movement when this award was established in 2001.  Nominations for recipients are taken every two years and the award is presented at the IGDF Seminar.


Previous Ken Lord Award recipients:

2002 - Ken Lord - South Africa

2004 - Keith Holdsworth - Australia

2006 - William Thornton - Canada

2008 - John Byfield - USA

2010 - Doug Roberts - USA

2012 - Alan Brooks - UK

2014 - Jane Russenberger - USA

2016 - Michele Pouliot - USA

2018 - John Gosling - Australia